On the Homefront

Sometimes we just have to slow down long enough to enjoy our kids. With every day there are new worries, hectic schedules, never-enough-time-to-get-it-all-done; sometimes, we just have to slow down.

Monday night, our youngest was begging to go to the park – nothing and no one was going to stand in her way – unfortunately, it was about 20 minutes before her bedtime. So in an effort to stop the incessant whining, pleading, and deal-making she was trying; I told her that on Tuesday I’d pack a lunch and we’d head to the park for a picnic and some playtime right after school (she is in 1/2 day kinder). Even before the bus turned the corner at the end of the block I had a bag all packed with a light lunch and the camera bag ready to go. She was so excited!

Have I said before how much I am loving my new camera? It’s amazing! My last point and shoot digital was so slow that I rarely got the ‘intended’ picture. Press button – wait 15 seconds – MAYBE it will decide to take a shot. Not the case now! I actually get pictures of her smiling – and her eyes aren’t really crossed! Woot! (Unfortunately, our youngest, though perfect in my eyes – did not inherit the photogenic gene that our oldest did. The oldest couldn’t take a bad picture if she were covered in mud and rolled in leaves! It really isn’t fair! LoL)

mpark1

 

Why is it that the first thing she always does – EVERYWHERE – is take off her shoes?

mpark2

 

mpark4

Here are a few taken in our backyard a couple of weeks ago… this day is actually why I got the new camera. I had tried for 30 minutes or more to get some decent pictures to share with grandparents and nothing… not one was really any good. These I actually got with my oldest’ cell phone! 🙂

myard2

myard3

myard1

 

and the oldest?

ryard1

See what I mean? So not fair! 😛

mryard1

Anyway, slowing down to play “tag” with the camera and my youngest was one of the best feelings I’ve had in a while – just hearing her squeals of laughter was worth putting off the laundry for an hour!

Happy shooting,

Nique’

~ by Nique' on May 20, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
